Recognized Student Organizatons (RSOs)

All Recognized Student Organizations (RSOs) are reviewed and approved by the Student Government association. The Student Development and Campus Life team believes that students are creative, resourceful, and whole; organizing allows them to maximize the strengths and gifts they have to make the entire campus and community thrive.

Student Government Association

The Student Government Association is the official executive and legislative body for student discussion, decision, and action. It is composed of student representatives elected on both an academic and class-standing basis. The Student Government Association is the primary channel for the development and review of residential and social policies, as well as for students to voice needs and concerns related to academic issues. A major duty of the SGA is to allocate funds to student organizations to support their contributions to campus life.

Ethan Thornton (President) ethornton@spalding.edu 

Anna Foshee (Advisor) afoshee@spalding.edu


Recognized Student Organizations (RSOs)

2020-2021


The Black Student Alliance (BSA)

The Black Student Alliance is an organization dedicated to creating a safe space for minority students on Spalding's campus; through focusing on Pan-Africanism, historical recovery and the Black experience in the United Sates.

Savasia Thompson (President) sthompson16@spalding.edu

Deonte Hollowell (Advisor) dhollowell@spalding.edu

 

Campus Activities Board

Supports students in imagineering opportunities that promote learning and service to sustain an engaged and compassionate Spalding community.

Ethan Thornton (President) ethornton@spalding.edu

Jordan Gross (Advisor)  jgross02@spalding.edu  

 

Kentucky Education Association Aspiring Educators, Spalding Chapter

KEASP provides pre-service teachers and others interested in education with professional development, service and leadership opportunities with p-12 schools.

Ashley Ray (President) aray06@spalding.edu

Karen Dunnagan (Advisor) kdunnagan@spalding.edu

 

Natural Science Student Association

Jeremy White (Advisor) jwhite07@spalding.edu 

 

 

Phi Beta Lambda

PBL inspires and prepares students to become community-minded business leaders in a global society through relevant career preparation and leadership experiences.

Melissa Perez (President) mperez01@spalding.edu

Dishant Pandya (Advisor) dpandya@spalding.edu

 

Poets of Spalding

The purpose of Poets of Spalding is to get young adults into the art of poetry and self-expression.

Victor Edwards (President) vedwards@spalding.edu

Minda Reves (Advisor) mreves@spalding.edu

 

Psi Chi  

Organized for the purposes of encouraging, stimulating, and maintaining excellence in scholarship, and advancing the science of psychology.

Hawthorne Merkle (president) smerkle@spalding.edu

David Morgan (Advisor) dmorgan@spalding.edu

 

Residence Hall Activities Council 

Providing comfortable living for student residents.

McKenna Blaylock (Advisor) mblaylock@spalding.edu

 

Sexuality and Gender Acceptance (SAGA)

Spalding’s Sexuality and Gender Acceptance club exists to provide a safe and supportive environment for lesbian, gay, bisexual, queer, questioning, and transgender youth and their straight allies.

Dylan Coley (President) dcoley@spalding.edu

Laura Detmering (Advisor) ldetmering@spalding.edu

 

Sigma Tau Delta

Our mission is to recognize the achievements of our members, providing resources and networking skills to further expand our knowledge while promoting an interdisciplinary atmosphere to foster the growth of our fellow students who are not members of our organization.

Lynnell Edwards (Advisor) ledwards02@spalding.edu

 

Spalding Local Urban Gardeners (SLUG)

Our mission is to create a Spalding-affiliated community garden that brings community members and students together to educate, engage reciprocally with the community, and provide fresh produce. Members will learn basic concepts of gardening and become stewards for the environment and the community by: -encouraging community engagement and service and promoting peace and justice​ by providing fresh produce and creating a collaborative space -being involved in a broad range of community interests, such as engaging with local organizations, business opportunities (i.e. farmers markets), neighborhood beautification, etc. -grounding students and community members in spiritual values​ as they make connections between their academic learning, the community, and the physical world.

Sally Rother (President) srother@spalding.edu

Abbie Lemmon (Advisor) alemmon@spalding.edu

 

Spalding University Athletic Training Club

Provides a setting for students who are interested in becoming an Allied Health Care Professional in the field of Sports Medicine to develop increased student involvement outside of the classroom and to network with local Sports Medicine professionals.

Brandon Pyle (President) bpyle@spalding.edu   

Tiffany Franklin (Advisor) tfranklin@spalding.edu

 

Spalding University Multicultural Psychology Association

SUMPA is a professional academic organization dedicated to advancing multicultural awareness through research, scholarship, and community outreach. The group promotes learning, growth, acceptance, and cultural competency in professional psychology and the community at large. We are concerned with the welfare and psychological health of persons of color, LGBTQ individuals, people living in poverty, women and children, and other groups who are marginalized due to their identity.

Lucille Gardner (President) lgardner01@spalding.edu

DeDe Wolfarth (Advisor) dwolfarth@spalding.edu

 

Spalding University Nursing Students (SUNS)  

Provides programs on recent advances in health care and networking opportunities with other health care professionals.

Julie Dennison (President) jdennison@spalding.edu

Christy Meek (Advisor) cmeek@spalding.edu

 

Student-Athlete Advisory Committee

Kasim Alsalman (President) kalsalman@spalding.edu

Danielle Lavender (Advisor) dlavender@spalding.edu

 

Table Top Club

The Table Top Club wishes to provide an enjoyable and memorable experience using table top roleplaying games.

Sarah Trevino (President) strevino@spalding.edu

Rick Hudson (Advisor) rhudson@spalding.edu

 

The Underground Artist Movement

Students from the Kentucky School of Art promote a creative and productive life through a higher education in the visual arts.

Kaitlyn Southerland (President) ksoutherland@spalding.edu

Aaron Lubrick (Advisor) alubrick@spalding.edu  

 

United Students of Social Work Association (USAWA)

Promotes a heightened awareness of social issues and encourages the development of professional skills.

Shannon Cambron (Advisor) scambron@spalding.edu 

 

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. – Tau Rho Chapter

Greek Letter Organization organized on the precepts of Scholarship, Service, Sisterly Love and Finer Womanhood.

Jasmine Furmon (President) taurhometro.president@gmail.com

Chelsi Sloan (Chapter Advisor) taurhoadvisor@gmail.com

Janelle Rae (University Advisor) jrae@spalding.edu