Recognized Student Organizatons (RSOs)

Recognized Student Organizations (RSOs)

2018-2019

 

The Adventure Club

The Adventure Club is a social group of individuals dedicated to exploring the outdoors for both educational as well as recreational purposes. We strive to not only explore these areas, but also leave them in a better condition then we found them through conservation and preservation efforts.

Quinn Rodenkirchen (President) crodenkirchen@spalding.edu

Scotty Brooks (Presiednt) gbrooks@spalding.edu

 

Campus Activities Board

Supports students in imagineering opportunities that promote learning and service to sustain an engaged and compassionate Spalding community.

Jessica Nelson (President) jnelson03@spalding.edu

Shaun McDonough (Advisor)  smcdonough@spalding.edu

 

Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc. – Theta Lambda Chapter

Greek Letter Organization dedicated to the development and perpetuation of scholarship, leadership, citizenship, fidelity and brotherhood amongst men.

Trevin Bass (President) trevin.bass@gmail.com 

Jennifer Anderson (Advisor) janderson@spalding.edu

 

Kentucky Education Association Student Program 

KEASP provides pre-service teachers and others interested in education with professional development, service and leadership opportunities with p-12 schools.

Sarah Mayer (President) smayer@spalding.edu

Karen Dunnagan (Advisor) kdunnagan@spalding.edu

 

Peer Mentors

Members work to learn, live, and activate the mission through campus programs and peer mentoring. 

TaChae Sowell (Advisor) tsowell02@spalding.edu

 

Natural Science Student Association

Andrea Compton (President) acompton@spalding.edu

Johnnie Newton (Advisor) jnewton01@spalding.edu 

 

Phi Alpha (National Honor Society)     

The purpose of Phi Alpha Honor Society is to provide a close bond among students of social work and promote humanitarian goals and ideals.

Kevin Borders (Advisor) kborders@spalding.edu

 

Pi Theta Epsilon (Beta Rho Chapter)

Pi Theta Epsilon is a specialized honor society for occupational therapy students and alumni, promoting research and scholarship.

Laura Stimler (Advisor) lstimler@spalding.edu

 

Phi Beta Lambda

PBL inspires and prepares students to become community-minded business leaders in a global society through relevant career preparation and leadership experiences.

Melissa Perez (President) mperez01@spalding.edu

Dave Hudson (Advisor) dhudson@spalding.edu

 

Poets of Spalding

The purpose of Poets of Spalding is to get young adults into the art of poetry and self-expression.

Victor Edwards (President) vedwards@spalding.edu

Merle Bachman (Advisor) mbachman@spalding.edu

 

Psi Chi  

Organized for the purposes of encouraging, stimulating, and maintaining excellence in scholarship, and advancing the science of psychology.

David Morgan (Advisor) dmorgan@spalding.edu

 

Residence Hall Activities Council 

Providing comfortable living for student residents.

Kristin Jones (Advisor) kjones15@spalding.edu

 

School of Communication Student Association

Our goal is to help promote diversity in a multitude of ways with an emphasis on radio as well as radio and student conversation. By using the school of communication as the vehicle to give students a voice in the community, we will encourage all students to be comfortable in their skin and also learn to communicate with people from different walks of life.

Brandon Beasley (President) bbeasley@spalding.edu

Liam Clemon (Vice President) Lclemon@spalding.edu

 

Sexuality and Gender Acceptance (SAGA)

Spalding’s Sexuality and Gender Acceptance club exists to provide a safe and supportive environment for lesbian, gay, bisexual, queer, questioning, and transgender youth and their straight allies.

Andrea Compton (Co-President) acompton@spalding.edu

Dylan Coley (Co-President) dcoley@spalding.edu

Laura Detmering (Advisor) ldetmering@spalding.edu

 

Sigma Tau Delta

Our mission is to recognize the achievements of our members, providing resources and networking skills to further expand our knowledge while promoting an interdisciplinary atmosphere to foster the growth of our fellow students who are not members of our organization.

Amy Kapoor (President) akapoor@spalding.edu

 

Spalding Local Urban Gardeners (SLUG)

Our mission is to create a Spalding-affiliated community garden that brings community members and students together to educate, engage reciprocally with the community, and provide fresh produce. Members will learn basic concepts of gardening and become stewards for the environment and the community by: -encouraging community engagement and service and promoting peace and justice​ by providing fresh produce and creating a collaborative space -being involved in a broad range of community interests, such as engaging with local organizations, business opportunities (i.e. farmers markets), neighborhood beautification, etc. -grounding students and community members in spiritual values​ as they make connections between their academic learning, the community, and the physical world.

Sally Rother (President) srother@spalding.edu

Jeff Shenton (Advisor) jshenton@spalding.edu

 

Spalding University Athletic Training Club

Provides a setting for students who are interested in becoming an Allied Health Care Professional in the field of Sports Medicine to develop increased student involvement outside of the classroom and to network with local Sports Medicine professionals.

Kiara Morris (Class of 2019 Rep) kmorris07@spalding.edu

Katie Suiters (Class of 2019 Rep) ksuiters@spalding.edu 

Tiffany Franklin (Advisor) tfranklin@spalding.edu

 

Spalding University Gaming Society

To create a community of gamers at Spalding who want to be up to date on the newest events and releases of the video game world and who just want to hang out and have fun.

Loki Searles (Suzerain of Patrons) zsearles@spalding.edu

Nikki Shedletsky (Advisor) nshedletsky@spalding.edu

 

Spalding University Multicultural Psychology Association

SUMPA is a professional academic organization dedicated to advancing multicultural awareness through research, scholarship, and community outreach. The group promotes learning, growth, acceptance, and cultural competency in professional psychology and the community at large. We are concerned with the welfare and psychological health of persons of color, LGBTQ individuals, people living in poverty, women and children, and other groups who are marginalized due to their identity.

David Hutsell (President) dhutsell@spalding.edu

DeDe Wolfarth (Advisor) dwolfarth@spalding.edu

 

Spalding University Nursing Students (SUNS)  

Provides programs on recent advances in health care and networking opportunities with other health care professionals.

Scotty Brooks (President) gbrooks@spalding.edu

Becky Gesler (Advisor) rgesler@spalding.edu

 

Spalding University Occupational Therapy Association (SUSOTA)

Provides opportunities for professional development through networking, service, and fellowship. 

Baylee Hadley (President) bhadley@spalding.edu

Corinne Hosch (Vice President) chosch@spalding.edu

Sara Story (Advisor) sstory@spalding.edu 

 

Student Government Association

Collective body of student representatives from all organizations and advocates for all students’ needs and concerns.

Scotty Brooks (President) gbrooks@spalding.edu

Anna Foshee (Advisor) afoshee@spalding.edu

 

Table Top Club

The Table Top Club wishes to provide an enjoyable and memorable experience using table top roleplaying games.

Sarah Trevino (President) strevino@spalding.edu

Rick Hudson (Advisor) rhudson@spalding.edu

 

The Underground Artist Movement

Students from the Kentucky School of Art promote a creative and productive life through a higher education in the visual arts.

Kara Bruce (President) hbruce@spalding.edu

Max St. John (Vice President) mstjohn@spalding.edu

Aaron Lubrick (Co-Advisor) alubrick@kycad.spalding.edu

 

Undergraduate Social Workers Association (USAWA)

Promotes a heightened awareness of social issues and encourages the development of professional skills.

Yamira Rafael (President) yrafael@spalding.edu

Shannon Cambron (Advisor) scambron@spalding.edu 

 

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. – Tau Rho Chapter

Greek Letter Organization organized on the precepts of Scholarship, Service, Sisterly Love and Finer Womanhood.

Deanna McMillan (President) deannamzetaf15@gmail.com

DeShawn Burrell (Graduate Advisor) deshawnburrell@yahoo.com

Janelle Rae (University Advisor) jrae@spalding.edu